Written by Shelley DeGroff, Founder & CEO of PPO Advisors
Last Updated: August 18, 2026
The Delta Dental paper check fee is a $15 weekly charge that starts January 1, 2027 for contracted providers who keep receiving paper checks from Delta Dental of California enterprise companies. At that rate the charge works out to $780 a year.
The fee reaches contracted dentists in 16 jurisdictions, and New York’s dental association has already taken the position that the fee would be unlawful under its state law. If you are contracted with Delta and still receive paper checks, you have until the end of this year to make a decision.
Here is who the fee reaches, what it costs, why New York is pushing back, and what to do before the deadline.
In This Article
- Who Does the Delta Dental Paper Check Fee Apply To?
- How Much Does the Delta Dental Paper Check Fee Cost?
- Is Delta Dental’s EFT Free?
- What Do Delta’s Footnotes Reveal?
- Is the Delta Dental Paper Check Fee Legal in New York?
- What Is the ADA Doing About the Fee?
- Which Questions Has Delta Not Answered?
- What Should You Do Before January 1, 2027?
- The Bottom Line
- Frequently Asked Questions
How to use this post: This is the reading of PPO Advisors, a PPO negotiation and credentialing company for dental practices, based on carrier notices, carrier websites, ADA reporting, and state dental association guidance available as of the publication date. It is an interpretation, not a carrier statement and not legal advice. Carriers revise policies, and dates, terms, and state law vary by practice. Verify anything here against your own notice, your own agreements, and your state dental association before you act on it. If your documents say something different, your documents govern.
Who Does the Delta Dental Paper Check Fee Apply To?
The Delta Dental paper check fee applies to contracted providers who submit claims to Delta Dental of California enterprise companies in 16 jurisdictions: Alabama, California, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, Montana, Nevada, New York, Pennsylvania, Texas, Utah, West Virginia, and Washington D.C.
That state list is wider than most coverage has reported. Delta confirmed to the American Dental Association that the fee applies to claims submitted to Delta Dental of California enterprise companies by contracted providers within those enterprise states.
| Provider Situation | Does the $15 Weekly Fee Apply? |
|---|---|
| Contracted provider in one of the 16 enterprise jurisdictions, keeps paper checks | Yes, starting January 1, 2027 |
| Contracted provider who enrolls in EFT | No, EFT payments carry no Delta fee |
| Out-of-network provider | Not currently. Delta told the ADA it will give advance notice if that changes |
| Contracted with a different Delta member company, treating a patient covered by a Delta Dental of California enterprise company | Not currently. Your local member company would notify you of changes |
On out-of-network providers, the phrasing reads as a description of where things stand now rather than a permanent exclusion, so it is worth continuing to watch.
How Much Does the Delta Dental Paper Check Fee Cost?
The Delta Dental paper check fee is $15 per week, which works out to $780 a year per fee assessment. Treat that annual figure as a starting point rather than a settled number, because Delta has not disclosed whether the fee is assessed per practice, per location, per clinician, or per payment account.
For a multi-location group the difference could be substantial. It is the first thing to ask Delta to confirm in writing.
KEY STAT: According to DentistryIQ, if every dentist across Delta’s PPO network of roughly 112,000 stayed on paper checks, the fees would exceed $87 million a year. Nobody expects that scenario, but it shows the scale of what is being built.
Yes, Delta Dental’s electronic funds transfer is free, and Delta is direct about this: there are no fees on Delta’s EFT payments. Enrolling does not give Delta the ability to withdraw money from your account.
Electronic funds transfer, or EFT, is a direct bank deposit of your claim payments in place of a mailed check. Enrollment runs through Delta’s own Provider Tools rather than a third party vendor, which is a meaningful difference from how some carriers handle this.
- Step 1: Sign in to Delta’s Provider Tools. Enrollment does not go through an outside vendor.
- Step 2: Select the EFT and ERA option. ERA is the electronic remittance advice that replaces your paper explanation of payment.
- Step 3: Provide your practice and banking information. Delta says enrollment takes 2 to 4 weeks to process.
- Step 4: Enroll well before January. Waiting until late December risks paying the fee while your enrollment processes.
Practices outside the enterprise states enroll through their local Delta member company and opt in to national sharing.
What Do Delta’s Footnotes Reveal?
Two small footnotes on Delta’s own EFT page reveal more than the announcement itself: the fee only applies where state law allows it, and Delta insists the fee is not a reimbursement cut.
The first footnote says the policy applies where consistent with state law. The reading of PPO Advisors is that Delta is signaling the fee may not apply uniformly across all 16 jurisdictions, and that state law will determine where it holds. Delta has not published which states it believes those are. Hold that thought, because it becomes the whole story in the next section.
The second footnote says the check processing fee is a separate administrative charge and does not constitute a reduction in, or amendment to, reimbursement rates. That sentence anticipates an obvious objection: a charge deducted from what reaches you looks a great deal like a fee schedule cut wearing a different hat. Whether that characterization holds up is a question for regulators, and in New York it is already being asked.
Is the Delta Dental Paper Check Fee Legal in New York?
According to the New York State Dental Association, the Delta Dental paper check fee would be considered illegal in New York because it effectively reduces the contracted plan fee. Under the state’s new statute, a dental carrier must offer in-network providers at least one fee-free payment method.
NYSDA drove virtual credit card legislation through the 2026 session, and it took effect June 17, 2026. On August 3, 2026, NYSDA published its reading of that law and applied it to Delta’s policy.
Be precise about who has said what. NYSDA is the state dental association, not a regulator. The New York State Department of Financial Services has not issued a determination on this policy as of this writing. NYSDA has stated a position on how the new law applies. It is a well-informed one from the organization that wrote the bill, but it is a position rather than a ruling.
How New York’s Payment Law Works
Understand the mechanics even if you practice elsewhere, because this is the model other states are copying.
- It applies to new contracts issued after June 17, 2026, and to existing contracts renewed, amended, or otherwise modified after that date.
- The carrier must notify you of the available payment methods and any fees attached to each.
- You get 30 days to accept the offered method or select an alternative, and at least one option must carry no added fee.
- Your election sticks until you notify the insurer in writing that you want to change it.
- If you miss the window, the insurer may pay using the fee-free method named in the notice, assuming it has what it needs, such as your banking information.
New York contracted providers who are charged a fee based on their payment method can file a complaint with the New York State Department of Financial Services, and should notify NYSDA as well.
If you practice in one of the other 15 jurisdictions on Delta’s list, put this question to your own state dental association: does our state law already prohibit this? Delta’s policy is conditioned on the answer.
What Is the ADA Doing About the Fee?
The American Dental Association opposes the Delta Dental paper check fee and has stated the action is in direct conflict with ADA policy. Its position is that dentists should be free to choose their preferred method of payment and receive the full value of their reimbursement without unnecessary administrative fees or payment processing charges.
On July 8, 2026, ADA President Dr. Richard Rosato and Executive Director Dr. Nader Nadershahi wrote to the National Association of Insurance Commissioners asking regulators to take a stand and urging state commissioners to support oversight. Their argument centered on the fact that most dental practices are small businesses, so added administrative costs and staff labor land harder on them, and that preserving provider choice keeps practices viable in both urban and rural settings.
Dr. Shelley Olson, chair of the ADA Council on Dental Benefit Programs, framed the cost as running in both directions: raising what it costs providers to administer care and what it costs patients to receive it.
The ADA has also produced a template letter that affected providers can send to Delta Dental of California. Your state dental association is very likely distributing it. Use it. Carrier policies do get revised when enough providers object in writing, and a template removes the excuse of not having time to draft one.
The Three Actions the ADA Is Asking Dentists to Take
- Contact Delta Dental of California to express concerns about payment options, provider choice, and the fees attached to receiving paper checks.
- Contact your state insurance commissioner about payment practices that may limit provider choice or impose fees on providers receiving claim payments, and ask regulators to review whether those practices are consistent with state insurance law.
- Review and advocate for state payment legislation with your state dental association, supporting laws that protect the right to choose how you are paid and prohibit fees for reimbursement by paper check.
Which Questions Has Delta Not Answered?
Delta has not answered four key questions about the paper check fee: how it is assessed, how many practices it affects, whether it will extend to out-of-network providers, and where state law blocks it.
- How is the fee assessed? Delta has not disclosed whether it applies per clinician, per practice, per location, or per payment account. For a multi-location group, that difference is enormous. Put the question in writing.
- How many practices will be affected? Delta has not said, which makes every revenue figure in circulation a projection rather than a fact.
- Will it extend to out-of-network providers? Delta said only that they are not included at this time.
- What happens in states where it is unlawful? Delta says the policy applies where consistent with state law. It has not published which states it believes those are.
What Should You Do Before January 1, 2027?
Decide before the deadline whether to enroll in Delta’s free EFT or accept the weekly charge, because doing nothing means paying $15 a week starting January 1, 2027. You have roughly four months, and EFT enrollment takes 2 to 4 weeks to process.
- Step 1: Decide deliberately, not by default. If you intend to switch to EFT, remember enrollment takes 2 to 4 weeks to process.
- Step 2: Enroll in HIPAA standard ACH EFT. It is free from Delta, and it is a true bank to bank deposit rather than a card product.
- Step 3: Set up a dedicated EFT account. The ADA recommends a separate bank account for payer deposits, view only access for the staff who reconcile, and a debit block so funds cannot be pulled without your authorization. This is the single best embezzlement control in the whole transition.
- Step 4: Confirm your bank can display addenda data. You need the reassociation trace number to match deposits to remittances. Ask before you enroll, not after.
- Step 5: Assign the remittance task. Digital remittance advice posts to Provider Tools the same day you are paid. Somebody in your office needs to own retrieving and posting it.
- Step 6: Check your state law first. New York’s dental association has taken the position that this fee is not lawful there. Your state association may reach the same conclusion about your law. Ask them before you assume you owe the charge.
- Step 7: Send the ADA’s template letter. It takes five minutes and it is the mechanism most likely to actually change the policy.
- Step 8: Put your questions in writing. Especially how the fee is assessed if you have more than one location or more than one provider.
Also happening right now: Aetna is eliminating paper checks entirely for out-of-network dentists and defaulting them to virtual credit cards. If your practice is out of network with any carrier, read Aetna Is Moving Out-of-Network Dentists to Virtual Credit Cards for the other half of this story.
The Bigger Picture
The fee schedule is not the only place a carrier takes money out of your practice. Payment mechanics, remittance formats, network leasing, and administrative charges all move real dollars, and they move them quietly because almost nobody negotiates them. Across 2,870+ dental practices PPO Advisors has worked with, negotiating the full contract rather than just the fee schedule has driven $37.3M in increased revenue with an average 20% fee increase. See how that works on the PPO Solutions page.
Delta says its charge is not a reduction in reimbursement rates. New York’s dental association reads its own state law differently. The view of PPO Advisors, and it is a view rather than a legal conclusion, is that a weekly charge to receive a payment reaches your bottom line much the way a fee schedule cut does. Where that argument goes is for regulators to decide, and in New York it is already being tested.
The encouraging part is that this is one of the few corners of dental insurance where organized pushback visibly works. Sixteen states enacted new dental insurance laws this year. States are moving from opt-out to opt-in on virtual credit cards. A state association passed a law, then read a carrier’s policy against it and publicly challenged the policy within weeks. That does not happen on fee schedules.
Pay attention to how you get paid, not only how much.
- The Delta Dental paper check fee is $15 per week, about $780 a year, and it starts January 1, 2027 for contracted providers in 16 jurisdictions.
- Delta Dental’s EFT is free, has no fees attached, and takes 2 to 4 weeks to process, so enrolling well before January avoids the charge entirely.
- The New York State Dental Association has taken the position that the fee is unlawful in New York, though no regulator has ruled yet.
- Delta has not disclosed whether the fee applies per practice, per location, per clinician, or per payment account, so multi-location groups should ask in writing.
- The ADA opposes the policy, has written to insurance commissioners, and offers a template letter dentists can send to Delta in five minutes.
Frequently Asked Questions About the Delta Dental Paper Check Fee
How much is the Delta Dental paper check fee?
The Delta Dental paper check fee is $15 per week, which works out to $780 a year. Delta has not disclosed whether it is assessed per practice, per location, per clinician, or per payment account, so a multi-location group could owe more than one fee.
When does the Delta Dental paper check fee start?
The Delta Dental paper check fee starts January 1, 2027, when electronic funds transfer becomes the standard payment method for the Delta Dental of California enterprise. EFT enrollment takes 2 to 4 weeks to process, so practices that want to avoid the fee should enroll well before January.
Which states does the Delta Dental paper check fee apply in?
The fee applies to contracted providers in 16 jurisdictions: Alabama, California, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, Montana, Nevada, New York, Pennsylvania, Texas, Utah, West Virginia, and Washington D.C. Delta’s own footnote says the policy applies where consistent with state law, so it may not hold in every one of them.
Is Delta Dental’s EFT really free?
Yes, Delta Dental’s EFT payments carry no fees, and enrolling does not give Delta the ability to withdraw money from your account. Enrollment runs through Delta’s own Provider Tools rather than a third party vendor, and digital remittance advice posts the same day you are paid.
Is the Delta Dental paper check fee legal in New York?
According to the New York State Dental Association, the Delta Dental paper check fee would be considered illegal in New York because it effectively reduces the contracted plan fee under the state’s 2026 payment law. NYSDA is a dental association, not a regulator, and the New York State Department of Financial Services has not issued a ruling on the policy as of this writing.
Written by Shelley DeGroff, Founder & CEO of PPO Advisors
Shelley has overseen 12,000+ dental credentialing applications and helped 2,870+ practices increase their PPO reimbursements since founding PPO Advisors in 2013.
Wondering What Delta’s New $780-a-Year Fee Means for Your Practice?
PPO Advisors’ Risk-Free PPO Profit Analysis shows you exactly where you’re losing money
and how much is recoverable – before you commit to anything.
Every analysis includes 10-15 hours of manual contract review and a personal walkthrough.
Start Your Risk-Free PPO Analysis →
Or call: (913) 359-7800
✍️ Shelley DeGroff
Founder, PPO Advisors